Tom Speight Announces Debut Album ‘Collide’

Tom Speight Announces Debut Album ‘Collide’
London-based artist Tom Speight has just announced that his debut album ‘Collide’ will arrive on April 12th, 2019 via Kobalt. The album was recorded in Jam Hut, Devon and Abbey Road. Chris Bond (Ben Howard’s drummer and producer) produced all the tracks on the album apart from ‘Lost Me’ which was produced by Guy Massey.

The album includes the Radio 2 playlisted singles ‘Want You’ and ‘Waiting’, plus new single Strangers Now. Artists involved with the album include Lydia Clowes, Lisa Hannigan, Jessica Stavely-Taylor (The Staves), Turin Brakes, Carey Willets (Athlete) and Benjamin Francis Leftwich.

Tom says of ‘Collide’
After releasing six EP's over the last two years, I felt like it was time for me to start work on my debut album! I wrote the bulk of the record in Belfast from October 2017-February 2018, then the recording process started in Devon in March with Chris Bond, and then three weeks into the session I had a major Crohn's flare-up and perforated my bowel. I ended up spending two months in hospital, and during this time my relationship broke down. It was probably my lowest period ever. I had a week in the hospital where I had my own room, so I started writing again. Its only way I know how to deal with things! I managed to write two songs that week about my experience and what I was feeling at the time.

Although it was an incredibly hard time for me and my loved ones, I'm thankful for it in some ways because the moment I left that hospital I just wanted to make the best possible record. It made me focus everything I had the thirteen songs that would make up 'Collide'. I feel musically it's my most confident and ambitious work; I pushed myself as a writer, singer and musician. The record draws from many different musical genres like Americana, Indie/Rock, Folk and Pop.

I was incredibly lucky to with Chris Bond, he completely understands the project and direction I want for the songs. We loved trying out different synths, string parts, vocal harmonies - nothing was off limits. I'm an independent artist in 2018, which is a beautiful thing because It meant I could make the record I wanted without any compromises. 'Collide' is the album I've always wanted to make and I can't wait to share it with everyone.

Tom Speight ‘Collide’ track list:
2.Little Love
3.Strangers Now
6.Lost To Me
7.Want You
8.Willow Tree
11.My Name
12.Into The Night
Share on Google Plus

About CaesarLiveNLoud

I'm a music lover and I want to share with the world the new artists and songs that I like.

0 comentários:

Post a Comment