Mabel nominated for The BRITs 2018 Critics’ Choice Award
The BRIT Awards 2018 have announced the shortlist for the 2018 Critics’ Choice award with Mabel, Jorja Smith and Stefflon Don competing for the award in a year that also marks an incredible ten years of the Critics’ Choice prize.

Since its inception in 2008, the BRITs Critics’ Choice award has successfully predicted and identified the future stars of British recording talent. Previous winners including Adele, Emeli Sandé, Sam Smith, and last year’s winner Rag ‘N’ Bone Man, have gone on to achieve phenomenal chart success both in the UK and globally. Collectively, the BRITs Critics’ Choice winners have sold over 40 million albums worldwide.

Being nominated for the Critics Choice award really is a dream come true for me.  So much hard work has gone into getting to this point, so to be acknowledged by something like the BRIT Awards means the world.

Jorja Smith
It's an honour to be recognised amongst such incredible emerging talent. 2017 was a very special year and there's so much more to come from me in 2018!

Stefflon Don
I am so excited to be nominated for this amazing award. A big shout out to all my fans and dons for their support. 2017 has been lit and I can’t wait for 2018! Mad love to you all

The Critics’ Choice Award is chosen by a team of experts including the music editors of national newspapers, key music and lifestyle magazines and music websites plus the heads of music at major radio and music TV stations. The Award is open to all artists who in the media and the selected Critics’ opinion will reach a significant level of success in their career the following year. Over 100 artists from a range of genres were considered for the award.

The 2018 Critics' Choice Award winner will be announced on Monday December 4th, and will be the first recipient of the specially designed Anish Kapoor award.

The Critics’ Choice Award is celebrating its 10th anniversary year.  Past Critics’ Choice winners:

2008                Adele
2009                Florence + The Machine
2010                Ellie Goulding
2011                Jessie J
2012                Emeli Sandé
2013                Tom Odell
2014                Sam Smith
2015                James Bay
2016                Jack Garratt
2017                Rag ’n’ Bone Man