Mr. Jukes - God First
Mr Jukes, the new solo project from Jack Steadman, has shared his brand new single Grant Green, featuring Charles Bradley. This is the second single to be lifted from the debut Mr Jukes album, God First, which is due on Island Records on July 14th.

Grant Green is a beautiful track that fuses funk, soul, and elements of hip-hop into effortless modern pop (via a blistering turn from Charles Bradley, and a carefully-curated sample from jazz great Grant Green). The track was conceived in Japan, with Steadman finding the original recording in a Tokyo kissaten, says Mr. Jukes,
they’re like a coffee shop or bar where the owner plays you his record collection and you sit there all afternoon, just listening. I was there with my notebook, secretly writing everything down.
Reaching out to long-time hero Charles Bradley having immediately written the song thereafter, the session back in the States was similarly memorable. Mr. Jukes adds,
It was all over in about an hour. Charles kinda exited the room with the chair spinning and I was left wondering what just happened! He’s a bundle of energy: he went at it full throttle and then I never saw him again. It was great!
Mr Jukes has just confirmed details of his first ever live show, with an intimate date at London’s Village Underground taking place on July 11th.

‘God First’ – Track-listing

  1.     Typhoon
  2.     Angels / Your Love (ft. BJ The Chicago Kid)
  3.     Ruby
  4.     Somebody New (ft. Elli Ingram)
  5.     Grant Green (ft. Charles Bradley
  6.     Leap of Faith (ft. De La Soul & Horace Andy)
  7.     From Golden Stars Comes Silver Dew (ft. Lalah Hathaway)
  8.     Magic
  9.     Tears (ft. Alexandria)
  10.     When Your Lights Go Out (ft. Lianne La Havas)